Hadrosaurus Ad spacer Atlantic City ad

Hoag Levins Home Page

APB Awards
blue bar
Go to Next Award blue bar

APB Wins ONA Journalism Award

APB Wins National FOIA Reporting Award

APB Wins Two NYC Press Club Awards

National Press Club Names APB Best News Web Site

APB Wins First Online Journalism Award Given by Investigative Reporters & Editors

>APB Wins Scripps-Howard Foundation National Journalism Award

APB Wins First SPJ Award for Online Breaking News Coverage

blue bar

Reprinted with permission from:

APB Wins Scripps-Howard Award
College Community Crime Risk Report Honored

Feb. 24, 2000

CINCINNATI (AP) -- The Scripps Howard Foundation has given national journalism awards to a Toledo Blade expose on the use of toxic beryllium, a Chicago Tribune investigation on death penalty cases and an Associated Press story on a blind woman who saw for the first time when she was nearly 80.

Scripps-Howard award
Journalism winners were cited by Scripps-Howard for the 'highest possible standards in our profession.'

The foundation's annual awards, announced Monday, included for the first time honors for World Wide Web reporting, which was won by APBnews.com.

Judges selected them for awards in categories including editorial writing, human interest writing, environmental and public service reporting, business/economics reporting, commentary, photojournalism, electronic journalism and college cartooning.

'Highest standards'

"The winners of this year's National Journalism Awards are an inspiration to all of us who aspire to the highest possible standards of our profession," said Judith G. Clabes, president and chief executive officer of the Scripps Howard Foundation.

Cash awards totaling $55,000 will be presented April 14 during a banquet at the National Press Club in Washington.

The winners:

Public service reporting, over 100,000 circulation: Chicago Tribune (Ken Armstrong, Maurice Possley, Steve Mills). The newspaper will receive $2,500 and the Roy W. Howard Award trophy for an investigative series on the justice system, focusing on capital punishment cases.

Public service reporting, under 100,000 circulation: The Colorado Daily, Boulder. The newspaper will receive $2,500 and the Roy W. Howard Award trophy for its scrutiny of a publicly funded project at the University of Colorado.

Web Reporting

Web reporting: APBnews.com, New York. APBnews.com will receive $2,500 and a trophy for an in-depth analysis of crime risk on U.S. college campuses.

College campus crime risk
APBnews.com's report provided crime risk statistics for 1,497 college campus neighborhoods across the country.

Editorial writing: John C. Bersia, The Orlando Sentinel, Florida. Bersia will receive $2,500 and the Walker Stone Award trophy. Bersia won for a series of editorials, "Fleeced in Florida," advocating regulatory reform of cash-advance businesses.

Commentary: Susan Anne Nielsen, The Seattle Times. Nielsen will receive $2,500 and a trophy. Nielsen won for a selection of her weekly columns.

Human interest writing: Helen O'Neill, The Associated Press, New York. O'Neill will receive $2,500 and the Ernie Pyle Award trophy. She won for a selection of feature stories, including "Bittersweet Sight," a profile of a woman who had been blind all her life until modern medicine was able to give her sight for the first time; and "Solo Surgery," the tale of how a sailor on a round-the-world race performed surgery on himself with advice transmitted to him from Boston over a satellite hookup.

Environmental Reporting

Environmental reporting, over 100,000 circulation: Sam Roe, The Blade, Toledo, Ohio. Roe will receive $2,500 and the Edward J. Meeman Award trophy for a six-part series that exposed how the government-sanctioned use of the metal beryllium caused the injury and death of dozens of workers.

Environmental reporting, under 100,000 circulation: Mike Dunne, The Advocate, Baton Rouge, La. Dunne will receive $2,500 and the Edward J. Meeman Award trophy for a series of stories that illustrated flaws in the government's attempts to save Louisiana wetlands.

Editorial cartooning: Ed Stein, Rocky Mountain News, Denver. Stein will receive $2,500 and a trophy for a selection of editorial cartoons commenting on the shootings at Columbine High School.

Distinguished service to literacy (two winners): Sonia Gutierrez, Carlos Rosario International Career Center, Washington, and the Naples Daily News, Florida. Gutierrez and the newspaper will each receive $2,500, the Charles E. Scripps Award trophy and a $5,000 donation from the Scripps Howard Foundation to the literacy group of their choice. Gutierrez won for her work with adult immigrant students. The Naples Daily News won for "Florida Reads," a literacy program that is being used statewide.

Distinguished service to the First Amendment: The Knoxville News-Sentinel, Tennessee. The newspaper will receive $2,500 and the Edward W. Scripps Award trophy for its two-year battle to ensure public access to taxpayer-funded criminal proceedings.

Photojournalism: George Kochaniec Jr., Rocky Mountain News, Denver. Kochaniec will receive $2,500 and a trophy. Kochaniec won for his coverage of the Columbine High School shootings.

Business/economics reporting: Tom Hallman Jr., The Oregonian, Portland. Hallman will receive $2,500 and the William Brewster Styles Award trophy for his work, "The Player," explaining the business of mortgage-backed securities.

Journalistic excellence in electronic media, small market radio: High Plains News Service, Billings, Mont. The news service will receive $2,500 and the Jack R. Howard Award trophy. It won for its reporting on the Sioux Indian community's reaction to a commercial hog farm that proposed setting setup operations on the reservation.

Journalistic excellence in electronic media, large market radio: Minnesota Public Radio, St. Paul. Minnesota Public Radio will receive $2,500 and the Jack R. Howard Award trophy. It won for its examination of the impact of the AIDS virus on the young.

Journalistic excellence in electronic media, small market TV/cable: No winner.

Journalistic excellence in electronic media, large market TV/cable: New England Cable News, Newton, Mass. It will receive $2,500 and the Jack R. Howard Award trophy for its documentary on a factory closing in Maine after 122 years.

College cartooning, Charles M. Schulz Award: Ryan Pagelow, Ohio University, The Post. Pagelow will receive $2,500 and the Charles M. Schulz Award trophy for a collection of his work.

The Scripps Howard Foundation, based in Cincinnati, supports journalism education, scholarships, internships, literacy, minority recruitment and First Amendment causes.

© 2000 APBnews.com